Homemade White Bread

I love making white bread loaf. I don’t even remember when was the last time I bought bread loaf from the supermarket. The more I make it at home, the easier it gets for me. I always satisfies me whenever I am able to produce a good white bread that we usually eat with ham, sausage, cheese, or my homemade jam.

I’ve posted several white bread recipe, but I love this one as it is one of the easiest recipes that you can try without failing. You can also make this into bread rolls (I did try and was happy with the result). Make sure it rises nicely before you go to the next step, and that is why making bread takes time and when I was in a hurry, my bread usually didn’t come out nice.

Ingredients:

  1. 300 gr bread flour
  2. 2 tbsp of sugar
  3. 120 gr plain milk
  4. 1 egg
  5. 5 gr instant yeast
  6. 40 gr salted butter

Method:

  1. Prepare a 450 gr bread pan or 19 x 11 x 10 cm (preferably with lid) lined with parchment paper
  2. Attach bowl and dough hooks to the mixer and add sugar, egg and milk, flour, instant yeast and start mixing with low speed
  3. Add butter and continue mixing until the dough is smooth, elastic, and not sticky (do a windowpane test to check whether the dough is ready or not). When the dough is ready, it should bounce back when you poke it with your finger
  4. Place dough in a bowl and cover with cling wrap and a clean cloth and let rise in a warm place for about 1 hour or until doubled in bulk. Note: lightly grease the bowl and the dough with cooking oil so the dough won’t be sticky to handle and shape. To see if the dough has risen enough, simply poke your finger into the dough, and if the fingermark stays, then it has finished rising
  5. Punch the dough to release the air and transfer to a silicone mat. Divide the dough into 4 equal size
  6. Roll each dough into a smooth round shape and roll into an oval long shape
  7. Fold 1/2 of the dough on the right to the centre. Then fold the other 1/2 of the dough on the left to slightly cover the folded area
  8. Roll flat and stretch, then roll tightly into a cylinder
  9. With seal facing down, place the dough in the loaf tins to have the 2nd round of proofing (cover with the lid if using) for about 60 to 75 minutes or until the dough almost touch the top of the lid.
  10. For details of how to roll the bread, please see my post Cream Cheese White Bread Loaf. 
  11. Bake in a preheated 175 C  fan for about 40 minutes and until the top turns brown (you can open the lid a little bit and check after 30 to 35 minutes)
  12. Remove from the oven and set aside the lid. Brush the top with butter, cover with clean cloth, and let it cool slightly for about 10 minutes
  13. Unmold from the bread pan and place on a cooling rack. Cover with clean cloth and wait until the bread has cool completely before slicing the bread

Leave a comment