Indonesian Fried Fish Cakes / Otak Otak Goreng

This fried fish cake was one of my favorite food when I was still living in Jakarta, and even when I was still a little girl. Usually, my mom would buy this delicious fish cake from the wet market, but unfortunately I had to share with other family members, so I never had enough of fish cake, hahaha……………….

The fish cake was so delicious especially when it was still hot, and we would dip it in chili sauce and ate it with hot steam white rice………………so yummy………….and I remember I could eat 2 to 3 plates of rice with this fish cake (and I was so skinny back then even though I ate a lot…………..).

When buying fish cake in the wet market or in the supermarket, the more dominant ingredient usually would be the flour and not the fish (of course, because tenggiri fish was usually quite expensive), so we couldn’t really taste the fish when we eat it.

It was different when I made this at home. I used 1/2 kg of fish (although I had to spent $16 just for the fish only) and only a small ratio of flour. I also added lots of cilantro and spring onion (which made the texture not so smooth) because I loved the smell and flavor of those cilantro and spring onion. So, I could really taste the fish (and not just the flour) in every bite. This was definitely delicious……………..

I also cut the fried fish cakes and mixed them with fried noodle or fried rice or stir fry vegetables.

Ingredients:

  1. 500 gr batang / tenggiri fish fillet (no skin, no bones), squeeze 2 tbsp of lime juice and refrigerate for 30 minutes to remove the fishy smell
  2. 1 large shallot
  3. 5 garlic
  4. 2 egg whites
  5. 1.5 tbsp salt
  6. 2 tbsp UHT coconut cream
  7. 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  8. 5 tbsp tapioca flour
  9. 10 cilantro, minced
  10. 20 spring onion, minced
  11. ice cold water

Method:

  1. Prepare a large bowl and fill 3/4 of the bowl with ice cold water
  2. In a food processor, process batang fish, shallot, garlic, egg whites, and salt until smooth and they form a paste
  3. In a large bowl, mix together coconut cream, all purpose flour, and tapioca flour
  4. Add fish paste, minced cilantro, and minced spring onion to the bowl and mix until well combined
  5. Shape the paste mixture into long shape with the palm of your hand (makes about 13 fish cakes)
    First, make a round shape
    Then roll in with the palms of your hands

    Place in a tray (dust the tray with flour)
  6. Boil water in a large pot (fill the water only until 3/4 of the pot)
  7. Add fish cake to the boiling water one by one and wait until they float
  8. Once they float, immediately transfer to the bowl with ice cold water
  9. Remove from the ice cold water after 5 minutes
  10. Dry the fish cakes with paper towel
  11. Deep fried until golden brown

Leave a Reply

