Homemade Chocolate Spread (Chocolate Paste)

Since I started my baking journey, I realized that I needed some ingredients to make cake, bread, or other sweet desserts, and one of the very important thing was the food coloring. Some colors that I needed are red, green, pink, and of course…………..chocolate. Well, especially chocolate since I’m a chocolate lover. Fortunately, my boy already started to like chocolate too and now I can make chocolate bread or cake and he would gladly eat them all.

If you know me through my posts, then you will know that I prefer anything natural or homemade if it is possible. To be honest, I don’t like to buy food coloring because I don’t know what are the ingredients inside those small bottles, and mostly………..I never likes the smell of store bought food coloring.

So far, I’ve made green color from pandan leaves (and the smell was so good and I will definitely share the recipe later) and this chocolate paste. This is actually chocolate spread, but can also be used as chocolate paste to give the lovely chocolate color in cakes and bread. Some of the desserts that I’ve made with this homemade chocolate paste are: swiss roll, Indonesian blossom steam cake, and Mexican buns.

The taste so good that I can’t stop licking the spoon every time I’m going to use it for my cakes and bread. You can also spread this on white bread and croissant and believe me, it will taste so good…………………….I didn’t do that because I knew I would never be able to stop before the I finished the whole chocolate spread inside the jar………………..

*Original recipe was taken from sugarhero.com with some modification

Ingredients:

  1. 1/4 cup water
  2. 1/2 cup sugar
  3. a pinch of salt
  4. 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  5. 1 tsp vanilla essence
  6. 100 gr unsweetened dark cooking chocolate, chop into cubes
  7. 140 gr unsalted butter

Method:

  1. In a small saucepan, add water, sugar, cocoa powder, and salt
  2. Place on low heat and stir until smooth and no lumps from sugar and cocoa powder. Keep stirring until reaches a simmer
  3. Turn off he hat and immediately add vanilla essence, dark cooking chocolate, and butter. Stir with a wooden spatula or whisk until the mixture is completely smooth
  4. Refrigerate the mixture until it thickens, and let it sit in room temperature for a while before using it

Leave a Reply

