Simple and Small Size Chocolate Brownies

We were going back to Jakarta back then, so I planned to empty my refrigerator so I could clean up before our trip and came back with a clean and fresh refrigerator. Besides, my mom would definitely cooked a lot of food to be brought here so I needed space to keep all the food (the thought of didn’t have to cook for at least a week made me very excited, hahaha………………don’t get me wrong, I love cooking, but I don’t like the cleaning part that followed afterwards).

So, while I was looking at all the ingredients that were still in my fridge, I saw that I still had a bar of dark cooking chocolate and I thought of what to do with it. I was thinking of making muffins, but I was quite bored with making muffins. Suddenly, I craved for chocolate brownies, the simple one, the chewy and fudgy brownies that didn’t take a long time to make but taste so delicious. I always like chocolate brownies, either steam or bake, but that time I decided to bake the brownies.

I made the very simple one and not too big. I liked it that way because looked like I was the only one in the house who would finish all the slices. My husband and my son didn’t really like dessert that were too sweet or contained too much chocolate (but chocolate brownies have to have a lot of chocolate, and I could compromise on reducing the sugar, but not the chocolate because I love chocolate so much and the taste would also be totally different), so the small brownies was an ideal thing to make.

It is also good if you’re on a diet and crave for something sweet but don’t want to eat too much, because if you make too much, than you will not stop eat it until it’s finished (at least, that is what always happen to me………………).

It turned out that it was a mistake of making this brownies in small size, because my son loved it that I could only ate 2 or 3 small slices and he finished the rest while studying for his Chinese and Science Exam (but I’m guessing it happened because he was too stressful learning Chinese and Science, so he needed sugar to boost his learning ability? Let’s see if he still likes the brownies in non exam days………………) . Well, anyway, as my son would always says: “Look at the bright side, at least it’s good for your diet……………”.

Long story short, the brownies were good and I had to try really hard not too put another slice into my mouth (I love chocolate brownies and now I want more).

As usual, I always reduce the amount of sugar into at least 40% from the original recipe. Oh, and I topped the brownies with grated cheddar cheese because I always think that cheese and chocolate make a great combination for dessert. Other option is to use chopped almond or walnut.

Double the recipe if you want to make it bigger in size.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 packet (113 gr) dark cooking chocolate bar, break into several pieces
  2. 55 gr butter
  3. 30 gr brown sugar
  4. 1 egg at room temperature
  5. 40 gr all purpose flour

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 160 Celsius
  2. Line a baking pan with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on the sides to lift the finished brownies out (it fit half of my baking pan with the size of 20 x 8 x 5 cm)
  3. Melt chocolate and butter over double boiler in low heat while stirring occasionally. I put a bowl on top of my steamer without the lid
  4. Add brown sugar, mix until there are no lumps, then turn off the heat
  5. Let it cool down slightly before whisking the egg
  6. Add flour, fold the ingredients together with a wooden spoon (or rubber spatula, but I didn’t have one so I always used a wooden spoon)
  7. Spread the batter evenly into prepared baking pan
  8. Top with grated cheddar cheese
  9. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes
  10. Let it cool before cutting it and serve

 

 

Leave a Reply

