Garlic Cheese Bombs

 
So, this was what happened when I watched too many Tasty videos in the internet. I’m sure you all know Tasty programs, right? They’s short videos about recipes and cooking techniques, and they are so addictive to watch. The cooking always look so simple yet so good and delicious. I don’t know how, but they always make all the dishes so easy to be made (although in reality that is not what always happen). Once, I laughed when my friend said she watched Tasty programs everyday and sometimes cooked based on the idea given by the programs, and now look at myself…………..I do the same thing that she did…………..sigh……………..
One of the dish that caught my attention was these Garlic Cheese Bombs. I saw the recipes before in other sites, but they always use store bought biscuits to make these cheese bombs. Since I wasn’t familiar with the biscuits (and not sure if I could find it here either), I was never interested to try even though they looked so good in pictures. So when I found Garlic Cheese Bombs recipe that was made from scratch in homecookingadventure, I was so happy and decided to try last weekend when we were stuck at home although it was long weekend because the boy had to study for his exam. So it was a good time to feed him before exam started, hahaha………………….
So………………….. how was it?
It was superb! We just loved them so much and the boy decided to take more than half of the cheese bombs that I made into his plate and declared that they were going to be his lunch.
And me? I only ate two………………….
I happened to have leftover chicken and corn soup, so my husband and I dipped the cheese bombs into the soup and it was sooo…………………delicious. These cheese bombs really went well with the soup, and even better than my homemade garlic bread. Even my husband already asked me to make soup and cheese bombs again for his weekend lunch. I planned to save some for the boy’s snack during his recess time at school, but all the cheese bombs were gone within minutes. The recipe is not difficult to follow, but it certainly takes time to make (and to clean up the mess…………….).
Of course, I made it with my food processor and it took me just less than 1 minute to have a lovely dough just by pressing 1 button with my finger. No food processor? No worry, you can still make these cheese bombs without it.
 

I made 22 cheese bombs with this recipe

Ingredients:

  1. 2 cups all purpose flour
  2. 1 tbsp sugar
  3. 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder (I used 3 fresh garlic since I never have garlic powder)
  4. 1/4 tsp salt
  5. 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  6. 70 gr cold unsalted butter
  7. 3/4 cup cold buttermilk
  8. 150 gr Mozzarella, cut into 22 pieces

Ingredients for brushing the top:

  1. 30 gr butter
  2. 1/4 tsp salt
  3. 1 tbsp minced coriander leaves or fresh parsley
  4. 1 garlic, minced

Method :

  1. Cut butter in cubes and freeze for 30 to 45 minutes
  2. If using food processor: Assemble the food processor with the steel blade (not the knead blade)
  3. Place flour, sugar, garlic, salt, and baking powder into the food processor, then pulse several times to mix everything and to mash the garlic
  4. Add cold butter
  5. While pressing the pulse button, add cold buttermilk
  6. Pulse again several times (between 5 to 6 times) and check in between to see if the dough is ready (not dry, not crumble, and easy to form)

    End result: the dough should be like this, it does not crumble when you press with your fingers
  7. If not using food processor: Mix together flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and garlic powder or garlic mash in a bowl. Then add the butter cubes, and use a fork to cut the butter until the pieces are no bigger than peas. Add the cold buttermilk and knead gently to bring it together
  8. Transfer the dough to a plate, then roll to make a ball. Dust with flour, then flatten the dough to make a disk shape
  9. Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes (will be easier to shape if the dough if  it’s cold)
  10. Preheat oven to 200 C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  11. Dust the working surface with flour and roll the dough into a rectangle around 30 x 40 cm. Cut in between 18 to 22 pieces. 
  12. Take one piece of the dough, place a piece of mozzarella cheese in the middle of each piece of dough and wrap the dough around the cheese. Seal the edges of the dough, then roll in your palms to form a ball. Place it in the baking sheet
  13. Do the same thing for the all the other dough
  14. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until golden brown
  15. While they bake, prepare the brush mixture: place butter, garlic, coriander leaves, and salt into a small pan. Cook until butter is melted and garlic is fragrant (about 3 minutes in low heat)
  16. When you’re done baking, brush the top of the bread with butter and garlic mixture
  17. Serve hot (I recommend to serve it with hot soup)

2 thoughts on “Garlic Cheese Bombs

Leave a Reply

