Chicken Stromboli

I’m not an expert on Western food because I usually cook Indonesian and Chinese food, and I also never heard and ate a Chicken Stromboli before, but when I saw the picture in a cooking website, it caught my attention immediately (the effect of spending too much time browsing for recipes………………….). It looked so nice and delicious that I wanted to try making it right away. I mean, look at the bread and the melted cheese……………….they are so yummy and make me hungry again right now.

Most of the recipes said to use shredded roasted chicken mixed with pizza sauce or marinara sauce. Since I’m not accustomed of eating and having roasted chicken at home, I cooked the filling using raw chicken mixed with pizza sauce and added mushrooms, carrots, and coriander leaves just so we could have extra vegetables and not only meat inside the bread, because you know me………………I always add vegetables in almost every dish……………………

I don’t know why this dish name is Chicken Stromboli, but it reminded me of Calzone or folded pizza……………although I think the right name to describe Chicken Stromboli is rolled pizza stuffed bread (is pizza a bread by the way? I don’t know because for us Indonesians, we often say pizza bread or roti pizza and roti means bread).

Since it was the first time for me and I didn’t know exactly how it would turn up, I was quite nervous actually. I kept looking at my oven to see what would happen, hahaha……………… Thankfully it turned out to be so nice (but I hadn’t figured out what it would taste because I had to take pictures first to celebrate my first attempt making Chicken Stromboli before anyone in the house could touch it……………). In between the shots, my son even desperately asked if he could try the dish now…………..hahaha………………..and I said just a couple more more minutes.

I had to be the first who tried before I could give it to the other family members, so I was the one who took the first bite……………………..

and it was soooooooo…………………….good…………………..I loved it so much!!!

and the happiest moment was when my other two boys also loved it too………………

It was so good especially when I dipped it in my super spicy chili sauce (because we, Indonesians, eat pizza with chili sauce, except for my boy and my husband). And by the way, it was so yummy that I only had 2 small slices for myself while the two boys finished everything else, although my son said it was good for my diet, hahaha………………

I sprinkled some grated cheddar cheese on top of the dough, although it should have been Parmesan, but I liked cheddar better than Parmesan, so I topped the pizza dough with cheddar cheese before it went to the oven.

I liked it a lot and will definitely make it again since it’s now so easy to make the dough in my food processor. Yes, I made the pizza dough in my food processor and I just found out recently, and I felt so stupid that day for having my food processor for such a long time but never knew that it could make bread, pizza, and pastry dough, and also cake batter. This is the cause of always throw away the manual books of my electronic gadgets to the deepest side of my cupboard just as soon as we got home from the electronic store.

So, I made my pizza dough in my food processor in just 30 seconds and it was way faster than my bread machine. My son is probably the happiest person in the house since he likes pizza so much and knowing that making pizza dough is very easy now, he knows that his mom will definitely make this dish very often.

There are several steps in making this delicious dish: first, we make the pizza dough, and while waiting for the dough to rise, we’re gonna make the filling. Then, we will assemble everything, let the dough rise again, and lastly, we’re going to bake the dough in the oven. But believe me, it was worth the time that I spent making this delicious dish (and washing the dishes afterwards too).

By the way, I read that many people complaints that it was very difficult to wash the food processor after using it to knead the dough. Well, I have to say that it was actually much easier to clean compare to the mess that it made after I process meat in the food processor (fish was especially the worst and the most difficult to clean). The easiest way for me is to always add 1 cup of water and little dishwashing liquid into the food processor and let the motor running for about 30 seconds, and it was very easy to clean after that.

So, let’s make pizza dough in the food processor………………..

Making Pizza Dough In A Food Processor

Ingredients:

  1. 2 cups all purpose flour
  2. 1.5 tsp instant yeast
  3. 3/4 tsp salt
  4. 3/4 cups warm water
  5. 2 tsp oil

Method:

  1. Prepare the food processor with the knead blade assembled
  2. Place flout, yeast, and salt in a food processor, then pulse several times until all ingredients are blended. You can fasten the process by mixing the ingredients with the spatula, then pulse several times
  3. With motor running, add water, then oil
  4. Process until a ball forms. The process from adding the water and oil until a ball forms took 20 seconds in my food processor. Then I kept processing for another 10 seconds and that was it. I had a smooth dough and not sticky dough in less then one minute
  5. Remove dough and form into a round ball. Place in a greased bowl, turning over to grease all around. Cover with a plastic wrap and clean cloth and let rise for 2 hours in room temperature to let the dough rise until doubled in size

Make the filling for Chicken Stromboli

Ingredients:

  1. 200 gr chicken
  2. 1/2 large onion, minced
  3. 3 garlic, minced
  4. 30 gr coriander leaves, minced
  5. 10 dried black fungus, soak in water for 15 minutes, then minced
  6. 1 carrot, grated
  7. 3 tbsp olive oil
  8. 5 tbsp pizza sauce
  9. 1 tsp salt
  10. 1 tbsp sugar
  11. 1 tsp Worcester sauce

Method:

  1. Heat a pan with 3 tbsp olive oil, then add large onion and garlic. Stir fry until fragrant
  2. Add chicken, and stir fry until the chicken turn color into white
  3. Add carrot and mushroom
  4. Add pizza sauce, salt, sugar, and Worcester sauce
  5. Cook until there is no more water in the pan / all the ingredients already absorb the sauce
  6. Add coriander leaves, mix, and turn off the heat

Assemble Chicken Stromboli

Ingredients:

  1. Pizza Dough

    The pizza dough doubled in size after 2 hours
  2. Chicken and vegetable in pizza sauce for the filling
  3. 1 cup grated mozzarella cheese
  4. 1 cup grated cheddar cheese or Parmesan cheese
  5. olive oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Onto a floured surface, cut the dough into 2 and  roll each dough into a 25 x 25 cm rectangle
  3. For each dough, add mozzarella in a row in the edge, then topped with chicken and vegetables, then topped again with cheddar or Parmesan cheese
  4. Fold the dough over the filling and roll
  5. Seal the both edges of the dough
  6. Place it with the seal on the bottom side on the prepared baking sheet
  7. Cover the dough with clean cloth and let rise in room temperature for 45 minutes
  8. Brush the dough with olive oil, cut slices on top to let the steam escape and sprinkle Parmesan or cheddar cheese
  9. Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden brown.
  10. Let it cool for about 5 minutes before serving and serve with chili sauce
     

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Stromboli

  1. Funny, I have never had Stromboli but my first thought was that it reminded me of Calzone too. I wonder if you could make one with flaky fluffy roti on the outside and something Indonesia inside like satay or curry?

    1. You definitely should try Chicken Stromboli, it’s so good and I even like it better than pizza.
      To be honest, I actually don’t like the flaky fluffy roti or roti canai as we call it and curry, because they’re not parts of Javanese culinary (I’m a Javanese), but originated from other island in Indonesia. And I still not used to how they taste even until now.
      But I like the idea of adding something Indonesian like chicken satay for pizza, because in Indonesia, pizza comes with local cuisine toppings too such as spicy beef rendang. So yeah, I think I’ll give it a try one day.

Leave a Reply

