Cheese Muffins (Made With Yogurt)

These cheese muffins was my second baking project of the day after the vanilla and raisins muffin (it was the third actually because I also made pizza, but this was the second batch of muffin that I baked that day). I was so happy with how my vanilla muffins turned out that I decided to bake another batch of muffins, but this time with cheese which was my son’s favorite.

I’ve made cheese muffins twice before and I failed miserably that I thought there must be something wrong with the recipe. The taste was not good (I would even say awful), the cake was dense and “heavy”, and the texture was not even close to muffin or cake. The muffin didn’t raise and in fact, it flopped. I was thinking that it might be because of the cheese and I really had a strong feeling that the cheese was the cause of this, and not the recipe.

I thought that because I used lots of cheese, it made the batter “heavy” and very difficult to rise and bake properly. I blamed the cheese, hahaha………..

So, as usual, I googled and I found out that I should not have used shredded cheese when baking because it was not pure cheese and it contained some kind of starch, plus the taste was also terrible when compared to block cheese. Please google about this for more information, it was a long explanation and I’m not an expert about this, so I can’t explain it in here.

That information gave me insight and I suddenly knew why my muffin batter wasn’t baked properly inside although the top was already brown. So I bought cheese block and start from that day, I decided to grate my own cheese (which was very easy thing to do actually).

So please do remember to always use cheese block and grate it yourself when you want to bake this muffin. Originally, this recipe was taken from homecookingadventure (which is one of my favorite cooking and baking site up to now). I cut the recipe into half because it was too much for us to finish.

So, how was the taste of these muffins? Well, the beauty of making your own muffins is that you can always use top quality cheese and put real cheese as much as you want, and by saying that I mean a lot of cheese.

These muffins were so cheesy in a very good way. Even my husband who doesn’t really like cheese loved this very much and it wasn’t enough for him to just have one at one go. Yes, this was the best cheese muffin that we ever had, even much and much better than the cheese muffins that we bought in famous bakeries or ate in 5 star hotel (and I’m not kidding). We could really taste the cheese and because I used good quality of cheese, the muffins didn’t gave us a bad aftertaste in the throat that we usually had when we had too much cheese.

The texture was different from the vanilla muffins because it used lots of cheese and yogurt, but it was still very soft and easy to chew. It smelt like real cheese and we could taste the cheese in every bite, even the smallest bite. I was hesitant to use yogurt at first because none of us liked yogurt and I was afraid that it would give a sour taste to the muffins, but boy I was wrong. You really have to use the yogurt when making these muffins, it will give a different texture and taste than just using plain milk.

This muffin recipe is really good and I recommend you to try, especially if you like cheese so much like my son, but even my husband and I who weren’t cheese lovers immediately fell in love with these muffins.

The muffins were actually full of fat because it used lots of cheese, milk, butter, and yogurt, so it made me full even though I only ate half of it, so it’s still a mystery to me how my husband and son could finish 2 every time (and even asked for more but I had to say no because meal time would be very late if they ate too much muffins). So yeah, it was that good so give it a try………………

This recipe is for 6 to 7 muffins (depending on how big your paper muffin cases are).

I also put the original amount of ingredients of the recipe in the brackets and in blue for your reference.

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients:

  1. 1/2 + 1/4 cups all purpose flour (1 1/2 cups or 190 gr)
  2. 1/2 tbsp sugar (1 tbsp sugar)
  3. 1 tsp baking powder (2 tsp baking powder)
  4. 1/4 tsp baking soda (none)
  5. 1/4 tsp salt (1/2 tsp salt)
  6. 1 cup grated cheddar cheese (2 cups grated cheddar cheese)

Wet Ingredients:

  1. 1/4 cups milk (1/2 cups milk)
  2. 1/4 cups plain yogurt (1/2 cups plain yogurt)
  3. 1/2 egg in room temperature, beaten (1 egg)
  4. 30 gr butter, melted, then let it cool in room temperature (1/4 cup or 60 gr butter)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 Celsius degrees (don’t forget to do this step before making the muffin batter, as this is to make sure that the oven is hot enough when we start baking the muffin)
  2. Line muffin tray with paper muffin cases
  3. In a bowl, whisk all the wet ingredients
  4. In another bowl, whisk or combine together all the dry ingredients. Then add in cheese and stir to mix well. Make a hole in the center, then add the wet ingredients mixture into the hole
  5. Fold the batter gently until it is just combined (it will need 15 to 18 strokes). The batter should be lumpy
  6. Scoop mixture (I used a soup spoon) into the muffin cups
  7. Sprinkle grated cheddar cheese on top
  8. Once the tray goes into the oven, reduce the temperature to 190 Celsius degree and bake for 20 to 25 minutes (I baked for exactly 25 minutes). The color should be golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean
  9. Leave the muffins in the tin to cool for about 5 mins, loosen muffins, and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely
  10. Serve warm
  11. How to store muffins: place paper towel in the bottom of an air tight container. Place the muffins on top of the paper towel. Add another paper towel on top of the muffins, then close the lid. The paper towel will absorb the extra moisture

Alternatively, if you don’t have muffin tray, you can use foil baking cups. Place paper muffin cases inside foil baking cups, then scoop the batter into the paper cups. For these cheese muffins recipe, I had enough batter for 6 cups and I still had one cup left which couldn’t fit into the muffin tray. So I used a foil baking cup to hold the paper cup and just placed it near the oven door (the only space left since my oven was so small).

The muffin was just as good as the others and it risen beautifully too. The color might not be as brown as the others because I placed it very near to my oven door, but it was still baked nicely. It was also very easy to take out the muffin case from the foil cup.

The muffin rise nicely even without a muffin tray
Leave a Reply

