My First Time Baking These Awesome Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oh my……………..I really fall in love with this chocolate chip cookies…………….and I just love, love, and love………………
As you may notice, I rarely post about making cookies or baking cakes or bread in my blog, and it is simply because I’m such a terrible baker. I always felt that I didn’t have the talent of baking, so I was always nervous and terrified to start making sweet desserts such as cookies or cakes. I tried several times (back then, years ago), and I failed miserably. Not to mention that the ingredients were so expensive, so it really annoyed me when I didn’t make it right the first time.
Now that I am a good friend of social media aka. Instagram, I see lots of cookies, cakes, and bread pictures which are so mouthwatering, look so pretty, and seem to be quite easy to make, hahaha………………but don’t be fooled by the look, the reality of producing good cakes or bread is not that sweet and easy.
So I was tempted to at least try once again, and I tried to find the easiest recipe that guaranteed to be successful (so you see, this had to be so easy that even a beginner like me would be able to do it). So I chose this one (and just because my boy was also a big fan of chocolate chips cookies).
Luckily, nowadays I can find step by step tutorial of how to make this and that on the Internet. The second luck for me was when I stumbled upon a website called Biggerbolderbaking which is now one of my favorite baking site, which explained in the easiest way that you can imagine of how to make this recipe.
The one thing that I like about this recipe is that Gemma (the owner of the site), only gave a small amount of ingredients to make 1 big cookie or 4 to 5 small cookies, which was again, very good for beginner like me. Besides, my husband and I don’t eat sweet things nowadays, so I actually made this simply for my son only.
For the first batch, I divided the dough into 4 big part and created giant cookies like these (although not as big as Gemma’s cookie):
I made this for my son who loved big cookies
I was so happy with the result that I made the second and third batch on the same day, hahaha……………and by the way, I only had a small oven, so there was no way to bake cookies in big batch, so this was just ideal for me.
The cookie texture was supposed to be crispy on the outside edges and chewy or gooey in the middle, and I was actually not a big fan of such cookies, but I was so tempted to try because my whole kitchen smelt so nice, so I cut 1/4 of the smallest cookie and ate it and……………………….my oh my………………it was just the best chocolate chip cookie that I’ve ever tasted. So I ended up eating another 1/4 because it was so good, then in less then five minutes, I came back and finish the other half……………….
Even my son liked these cookies so much that he ended up eating 3 big servings just one hour after his big lunch (even after all that eating , he still stays so skinny, sigh………………)
My husband who was very picky and didn’t like sweet things also gave 2 thumbs up and said it was so yummy, and even advised me to bake for my whole Sunday School students (but first, get me a bigger oven, please……………….I really have to bake several times to bake for my students and friends at church…………….).
So yeah, this recipe was awesome that even a bigger looser in baking like me could make it and it tasted heavenly. So do give it a try and you won’t be sorry. Even my son already asked me to buy him his favorite Hokkaido cream milk because he wants to have it with the cookies.
Enjoy…………………….
Ingredients:
  1. 30 gr unsalted butter
  2. 3 tbsp brown sugar
  3. a pinch of salt
  4. 1 tbsp whisked egg (how to: crack 1 egg into a small bowl, then whisk until yolk and white are well blended, then measure out 1 tbsp)
    Whisked egg
  5. ΒΌ tsp vanilla essence
  6. 5 tbsp all-purpose flour
  7. β…› tsp baking soda
  8. 4 tbsp unsweetened or semi sweetened chocolate chips (I use dark semi sweetened chocolate chips because my boy didn’t like the unsweetened ones)

Method:

  1. Before start mixing the cookies dough, start by preheat oven to 180 Celsius degree
  2. Melt butter in microwave or using a small pan on a stove (I did the second one because I didn’t have a microwave)

    Place the pan at least 3 cm away from the flame. Do not bring the butter to boil
  3. Transfer melted butter from the pan to a medium bowl
  4. To the melted butter, add 3 tbsp brown sugar, add a pinch of salt, add 1 tbsp of egg, add 1/4 tsp of vanilla essence, add 5 tbsp all purpose flour, and finally add 1/8 tsp of baking soda
  5. Stir with a spatula or a spoon until the mixture is well combined
  6. Add chocolate chips to the bowl and mix in 
  7. Divide the dough into 5 parts and using the spatula, drop each one of them on parchment lined baking sheet. Make sure the dough is not too close to each other. Shape the edges with hand and flatten by gently press the dough so the dough will have a nice shape
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 15-18 minutes until cookie is golden. Every oven is different, but for my oven, 15 minutes sharp was the ideal time. When you take out from the oven, the cookies might still look very soft, but they will turn harder once they’re cold enough
  9. Serve warm or allow to cool on a wire rack before keeping them in an airtight container. I usually keep the container in the refrigerator and that helps to keep the cookies from being soggy.

2 thoughts on “My First Time Baking These Awesome Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

