Spring Roll

img_5572

Spring roll is one of my lil boy’s favorite food. Whenever we eat outside and he sees this dish in the menu, he will order spring roll. He likes it simply because it is crunchy and crispy and salty and he likes all food that is savory and crispy. So no wonder he really likes spring roll. I usually never tasted the spring rolls in the restaurants because my boy would finish the whole plate by himself. Last time when we ate at a Thai restaurant, one of his spring roll accidentally dropped to a bowl of chili sauce so he couldn’t eat it because he didn’t like eating spicy food. So I ate that half of spring roll and was quite shocked when I tasted nothing but crispy skin and glass noodles. There was nothing else inside the wrapper, just that transparent cut noddles (the taste was not good to my liking)……………..and plus, we were charged quite expensive for those spring rolls? I was quite upset, hahaha……………….so I told him I would just make spring rolls for him and he could eat as many as he wanted.

Making spring roll is actually very easy. The most annoying things for me are the preparation and the so many things that I have to clean after that……………heavy sigh………..but I have promised my lil one, so I got to make this dish for him.

You can add anything that you want as the filling, such as pork or chicken and shrimp, carrots, glass noodles, green bean (buncis), cabbage, and spring onions. This time, I only used whatever I still had in my refrigerator and since I had so many carrots, my main ingredient was 1/2 kg of carrots……………and thankfully my food processor helped me to grate all the carrots within seconds. But then again, wrapping 50 spring rolls all at once also took quite some time but I rather did everything all at once and just kept them in the refrigerator, so it would be easier for me whenever I wanted to fry them.

img_5575

Spring roll in Indonesia is also known as lumpia or loenpia in Semarang (a big city and also the capital city of Central Java in Indonesia). I was born in Semarang and both my parents were also from this city, so I already knew loenpia since I was small. Loenpia Semarang is very famous as one of the best loenpia in Indonesia. It comes in big size and the yummy fillings are using bamboo shoots and pork or chicken. My mom is very good at making this dish and I always loved it when my mom making this dish. I remember that I never had enough no matter how many loenpia that she fried. Cooking with bamboo shoots is a little bit tricky and I haven’t learned this from my mom, but maybe I will do it when I come back to Jakarta the next holiday. Hopefully my lil boy will love the taste too. Writing about spring roll really makes me miss my mom’s homemade loenpia which always tastes sooo good…….

In the mean time, this is how I made my spring roll and I will gladly say that my husband and my lil boy said it was really yummy………….and of course the lil one ate the most but he still said he didn’t get enough……………………hahaha………..

img_5568

Ingredients:

  1. 100 gr minced chicken
  2. 500 gr carrots, grated
  3. 50 gr spring onion, minced
  4. 70 gr bean vermicelli or glass noodle (soun)
  5. 4 red onions, minced
  6. 8 garlic, minced
  7. 3 tbsp olive oil
  8. 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  9. 1 tsp sesame oil
  10. 1 tsp fish sauce
  11. 50 sheets spring roll pastry
  12. 1 tbsp corn or tapioca flour
  13. 100 ml water

img_5413

Method:

  1. To make the sealing paste: combine corn starch and water in a saucepan and cook in a low heat. Keep stirring the mixture until the paste becomes thick like glue. If it’s too thick, add water little by little while keep stirring the paste
  2. To make the filling: Soak the bean vermicelli in cold water until soft, for about 15 minutes. Drain the water and cut noddles into small size using kitchen scissors. Set aside.
  3. Heat 3 tbsp of olive oil in a wok and stir fry garlic and onion until aromatic
  4. Add minced chicken and cook until the chicken turns into white
  5. Add grated carrot and season with salt, sesame oil, and fish sauce
  6. When the carrot is half cooked, add bean vermicelli
  7. Before turning off the heat, add spring onion and mix well with other ingredients
  8. Transfer the filling to a bowl and let it cool

How to assemble and serve the spring roll:

  1. Lay a spring roll wrapper in a triangle position on a clean cutting board. Put 2 tsp of filling in the bottom side of the wrapperimg_5423
  2. Roll the wrapper tightly twiceimg_5424img_5425
  3. Using index finger, apply sealing paste on the left and right side of the wrapperimg_5426
  4. Fold the left side and right side of the wrapper until it forms an envelope shapeimg_5428img_5429
  5. Seal the top of the wrapper and roll tightlyimg_5432img_5433img_5435
  6. Do this for the rest of the wrappers
    img_5436
  7. Store in a lock and lock lunch box in the refrigerator if you don’t want to fry all of them at once
  8. Deep fried in medium heat until golden brownimg_5437
  9. Drain on paper towels and serve with green chili padi or chili sauceimg_5571

Enjoy the spring roll………………………..

Leave a Reply

