Crispy Black Pomfret in Sweet and Sour Sauce

black-pomfret-in-sweet-and-sour-sauce_fotor

Since my little accident (I fell down the stairs by the way and sadly I haven’t fully recovered yet) about two months ago, my husband has been doing the grocery shopping in the wet market for me every weekend. In this way, we still have enough food supply for a week and I can still cook daily at home.

It happened that last Saturday I asked him to buy 3 small black pomfrets so I could grill them for lunch. I thought my instruction was clear, and that was to buy 3 small ones, just about as big as a palm of a hand…………..only I forgot to mention that it should be my hand palm, and not his………………and so he came home with 3 (quite) big black pomfrets just a little bigger than his palm, hahaha……………….

So what should I do with them anyway? I couldn’t grill them since they were “too thick” so they won’t taste nice, and I have 3 big black pomfrets and I didn’t know how to finish them all.

So I searched for inspiration on the internet and found that black pomfret is also good to be fried and serve with sweet and sour sauce. So I decided to give it a try and yes, it turned out so good and so yummy. My lil boy also liked it (well, he likes anything crispy) and he also liked the sauce that he finished a bowl of sauce by himself. For him, I had to separate the sauce since he liked the fish to be still crispy and he just added the sauce on top of his rice.

crispy-black-pomfret

So, this is my version of crispy black pomfret with sweet and sour sauce. The level of sweetness or sourness is depend on your liking, so if you want to try the sauce, start with 2 tbsp of sugar and 4 tbsp of tomato sauce, then add the sugar and tomato sauce by 1 tbsp every time if necessary.

Ingredients:

For the fish:

  1. 2 medium size black pomfrets
  2. lime juice from 4 limes
  3. 2 tsp salt
  4. 5 garlic, mash into a paste with mortar and pestle
  5. 3 tbsp tapioca or corn flour

For the sauce:

  1. 1 large onion, cut into thin slices
  2. 5 garlic, minced
  3. 1 tomato, cut into long thin slices
  4. 2 carrots, grated or cut into long thin slices
  5. 10 spring onion, cut into 2 cm
  6. 1 thumb of ginger, cut into 5
  7. 4 tbsp sugar
  8. 6 tbsp tomato sauce
  9. 1 tsp salt
  10. 2 tbsp olive oil
  11. 500 ml water
  12. 2 tbsp full of tapioca flour, add 100 ml of water and stir until there are no lumps

Method:

  1. Clean the fish and cut the tails and fins. Cut three slits diagonally across both sides. Squeeze lime juice on both sides and inside the fish. Rub both sides of the fish and the hollow stomach area with salt and garlic paste. Let the fish marinate for at least 30 minutes in the refrigerator
  2. Coat the fish with tapioca flour until it is coated nicely. Shake off the excess flour and put in the refrigerator for another 15 minutesimg_5560
  3. Deep fried the fish until golden brown on both sides in medium heat. Meanwhile, we are going to prepare the sauce:
  4. Heat a pan with 2 tbsp of olive oil and add ginger, onion, and garlic. Stir fry until aromatic
  5. Add tomato and carrots and stir fry for another 30 seconds
  6. Add 500 ml of water and add sugar, salt, tomato sauce, and water
  7. Cook until the carrot is soft while stirring occasionally
  8. Add spring onion, mix well
  9. Add the mixture of tapioca flour and water, stir and wait until the sauce boils
  10. Arrange the fried fish on a plate
  11. Add the sauce on top of the fish and serve with hot steam rice and chili saucecrispy-black-pomfret
Leave a Reply

