Pampis Ikan (Non Spicy Shredded Fish with Spices and Herbs)

IMG_2827

Pampis Ikan or shredded fish with spices and herbs is one of Indonesia traditional dish from Manado, the capital city North Sulawesi, Indonesia. It is a beautiful city that located at the Bay of Manado and is surrounded by a mountainous area.

I remember that I had visited this city on one of my business trips many years ago before I even got married. So it’s been a long long time ago. I especially loved klappertart, a sweet dessert from Manado that use sweet young coconut as one of the main ingredient. I just loved it…………….especially when it was eaten cold.

My parents also had been here with my uncles and aunts, and they were agreed that this was a wonderful city with beautiful scenery and good food. You will find extreme culinary in Manado’s market (please google yourself because I am too scary to write them down here, hahaha…………..) and its one of place that attracts many tourists.

The dish from Manado tends to be very spicy, so I made some adjustments in this dish because my husband and my son do not like to eat spicy food.

This dish originally uses cakalang fish or skipjack tuna, but since I couldn’t find this kind of fish here, so I substitute it with tenggiri or batang fish. Manado is also well known for one of its fish product form the seas nearby, and that is cakalang fish or skipjack tuna, so no wonder that there are many dishes that use this kind of fish which taste delicious.

I also substitute kemangi leeaves with coriander leaves since………….once again……………I never see any kemangi leaves being sold in the market here. There were some other things that I modified from the original recipe to suit my family’s taste buds, but even after so many adjustments that I’ve made, this dish was still taste delicious.

The texture was somewhat reminded me of fish floss, but this dish was not as dry or crispy as fish floss. I also use this shredded fish as filling for my grilled rice in banana leaves, which I will post the recipe later.

IMG_2829

Ingredients:

  1. 400 gr tenggiri / batang fish fillet
  2. 3 minced shallots
  3. 5 minced garlic

    Mince with hand chopper
    Mince garlic and onion was easy with my new  hand chopper that I bought in the wet market for $10
  4. 1 thumb of ginger, cut in thinly slices
  5. 1 thumb of galanger / lengkuas, cut 5 in round shapes
  6. 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  7. 3 lemon grass (only take the white part), crushed
  8. 12 lime leaves, minced
  9. 3 pandan leaves, each cut into 4
  10. 2 tbsp oil
  11. 1 tsp sugar
  12. 1.5 tsp salt
  13. 10 minced spring onion

Method:

  1. Place fish fillet in a steaming plate
  2. Boil water in a steamer and cook the fish in the steamer until thoroughly cooked. Gently poke the fish flesh with a fork to make sure that the fish is done. When it’s done, the fish flesh should flake apart easily
  3. After steamed, wait for the fish to get cold, then use your hand to tear it into small fish meat in a bowl
  4. Heat 2 tbsp cooking oil in a non stick pan in medium heat
  5. Add ginger and galanger into the pan, stir fry until aromatic
  6. Add garlic, stir fry for about 30 seconds or until fragrant
  7. Add shallots, stir fry for another 1 minute
  8. Add coriander stems, lemon grass, pandan leaves, lime leaves, and half portion of spring onion. Fry until lime leaves are cooked (for about 3 minutes)
  9. Add sugar, salt, and turmeric powder, mix well
  10. Add fish, cook until it becomes dry for about 15 to 20 minutes. Do not stop stirring while breaking apart the fish with spatula
  11. Add coriander leaves and spring onion, mix and stir for another 2 minutes
  12. Turn off the heat
  13. Serve with hot steam rice, sambal terasi (Indonesia traditional chili paste), and keropok
  14. Keep the leftover in the fridge and reheat the dish in a steamer, a non stick pan, or in a microwave

IMG_2828

This is one of the easy to make dish that the kids will love. Most people usually make this dish in big batches, and keep it in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

