Mie Kangkung / Chicken Noodle Soup in Sweet Soy Sauce

IMG_1776

Mie (noodle) and kangkung (kangkong – green vegetable that almost resemble spinach) is one of Indonesia traditional dish that I like a lot. It is basically chicken noodle soup but cooked in sweet soy sauce,  and unlike other noodle soup that uses bok choy or chye sim or even been sprouts as the vegetables mixed with the noodle, this noodle soup uses kangkong as the main ingredients for vegetables.

Kangkong or kangkung is a well known vegetable in most parts of Indonesia and you can get it easily almost everywhere. It is delicious and you can see stir fry kangkong accompanied seafood dish such as fish, crabs, squids, prawns, and clams. I like very spicy stir fry kangkong with oyster sauce and lots of garlic accompanied with salted fish or crispy fried tofu……………….but this time we will not talk about this which already make me very hungry now.

Last week, I was craving for mie kangkung. Of course there was (and still is or maybe there is but I don’t know) no mie kangkung food stall in here, so the only way to eat this dish was to cook it myself. There were different types of mie kangkung that I have eaten before, but I specifically wanted the one that I used to eat in that particular food stall near where my parents’ live in Jakarta. The noodle was thick with black thick oily soup topped with chicken in sweet soy sauce, lots of minced spring onion, and not to forget chili oil and very spicy chili sauce and a small lime as condiments. It was soooo……………..delicious. For me, I have to visit this stall at least once whenever I come back to Jakarta.

IMG_9648
Yup, this was from Mie Tarik Leiker that has several branches in Jakarta now. The question was: Can I create something similar like this?

I could see the staff making this noodle with hand pulled technique that made the noodle thick but smooth and chewy. Since I couldn’t make that at home, I chose noodle that mostly similar to the texture of this hand pulled noodle, but anyway you can use any kind of noodle that you like.

For the soup, adding corn starch will help to make the soup thicker, and if you want darker color like the one in Mie Leiker Food Stall, you can add more sweet soy sauce in the recipe.

IMG_2024
This was my cooking………………and it tasted so yummy and soooo…………delicious too……………..

I couldn’t find the recipe that I wanted to make this noodle, so at the end I just made my own estimation about the ingredients and methods of how to make this delicious noodle soup.

Warning: there were so many things to do, to wash, to cut, to cook, and to clean. I made more than enough for the three of us and planned to eat the last portion for my breakfast the next day (because I loved it so much and I had worked hard so I thought I had to have extra, rite?), but it turned out that everybody else in the house liked it so much and my husband literally ate 2 big bowls in a row and my son finished 1 1/2 bowls……………..and that left me with the one who had the least portion…………………hahaha……………but at least it proved how good this recipe was. My husband loved this with my homemade chili oil.

IMG_2029
Look at the soup………………yummm…………………and of course I put lots of chili and spring onions

*This recipe is for 4 servings*

Ingredients:

For the topping: “Chicken and Mushroom in Sweet Soy Sauce”:

  1. 250 gr chicken fillet, cut into 0.5 x 0.5 cm
  2. 3 shiitake mushrooms (or any mushrooms of your choice), cut into small cubes
  3. 5 cm of ginger, cut round shape in thinly slices
  4. 2 minced shallots
  5. 7 cloves of minced garlic
  6. 1/2 tbsp oyster sauce
  7. 3 tbsp sweet soy sauce
  8. 2 tbsp rice cooking wine (angciu)
  9. 2 tbsp soy sauce
  10. 1 tbsp fish sauce
  11. 1 tbsp sesame oil
  12. 1 tsp salt
  13. 400 ml water or chicken broth
  14. 1 tbsp cooking oil / olive oil

For the soup:

  1. 900 to 1000 ml chicken broth
  2. Salt to taste
  3. 2 tbsp poya. The original recipe is using dried shrimp, but since I didn’t have any at the moment, I substituted with 2 tbsp of poya which turned out to be great. I didn’t exactly made poya, I just fried some shrimp crackers, process in a blender to make smooth crumbs, and add 2 tbsp of the crumbs into the soup

Others:

  1. 400 gr kangkong (when packed), cook in boiling water. Set aside
  2. 700 gr noodle (I used Hokkian flat noodles), wash under running water to make it less oily, and cook in boiling water for 30 seconds. Set aside
  3. fried shallot
  4. a bunch of minced spring onion
  5. Chili oil (recipe can be found here)
  6. Sambal bakso / chili sauce (recipe can be found here)

Method:

To make the topping:

  1. Heat a medium pan with 1 tbsp of cooking oil
  2. Add ginger and stir fry until fragrant
  3. Add garlic, stir fry until aromatic, then add shallots and keep stirring until fragrant
  4. Add shiitake mushroom, cook for 1 minute
  5. Add chicken, cook until the chicken turn color
  6. Add seasoning: oyster sauce, sweet soy sauce, rice cooking wine, soy sauce, fish sauce, sesame oil, and salt. Stir so it will mix well with other ingredients. Cook for another 2 minutes
  7. Add 400 ml of water or chicken broth. Cook until the sauce boils and the chicken has cooked thoroughly. The water / broth will reduce to 200 to 300 ml in the pan (depending on how long you cook the chicken)
  8. Transfer the chicken and mushroom to a bowl and set aside, and left the water / broth in the pan

To make the soup:

  1. Add 900 ml (or 1000 ml if you don’t have much sauce left in the pan) of chicken broth to the pan with leftover sauce from cooking the chicken and mushrooms (number 8 above)
  2. Add poya (fried shrimp cracker crumbs). Cook until the soup boils. Add salt to taste
  3. Add 1 tbsp of minced spring onion (optional) and turn off the heat IMG_1779

How to serve:

  1. In a medium bowl, arrange noodle and kangkong side by side
  2. Pour some soup into the bowl
  3. Top with 2 or more table spoons of chicken and mushroom in sweet soy sauce
  4. Arrange fried shallots and minced spring onion next to the chicken and mushroom
  5. Serve hot with chili oil and chili sauce

IMG_2027

Leave a Reply

