Teriyaki Glazed Salmon

IMG_1905

Teriyaki salmon is definitely one of my son and my husband’s favorite food. I’ve posted here of how I made my very simple teriyaki salmon just by marinade the salmon in teriyaki sauce and kikkoman soy sauce and just grill it on my happycall pan, but then I always wanted to make teriyaki glazed salmon just like the one I saw at the restaurant where the chef grilled the salmon first then add teriyaki sauce mixture on top of it. The problem was, my son didn’t like to eat the salmon that way.

So I’ve tried to search for similar recipes on the internet, and there was one that caught my attention from justonecookbook.com, but instead of using bottled teriyaki sauce (like I always do), this recipe used sake and mirin . So I made some changes in the recipe using whatever ingredient that I had and which I knew will suit my family the best.

At the end, this dish got two thumbs up from my son and my husband. This was so good and delicious and I will cook my teriyaki salmon in this way the next time. It is not as easy as what I usually did, but it was worth all the preparations and cooking and washing………………

IMG_1917

Ingredients

  1. 1 salmon fillet
  2. 1/2 tsp of salt and 1  tbsp of flour
  3. 1 tbsp oil
  4. 1 tbsp unsalted butter

Seasoning:

  1. 1 tbsp rice cooking wine
  2. 1 tbsp Saori teriyaki sauce
  3. 1 tbsp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed soy sauce
  4. 1 tsp sugar

Method

  1. Squeeze some lime juice to the salmon and put the salmon in the fridge for about 30 minutes
  2. Meanwhile, combine all seasoning in a small bowl and mix well. Set aside
  3. After 30 minutes, pat dry the salmon add season the salmon evenly with 1/2 of salt
  4. Dust the salmon with 1 tbsp flour (or 1 1/2 tbsp if you’re using a bigger salmon) on all sides. At this stage, I usually put my salmon back to the fridge for another 30 minutes so the salmon to give time for the salmon to absorb the salt and the flour to stick completely to the salmon IMG_1867
  5. In a frying pan, add the oil and melt the butter in low heat
  6. Add the salmon fillet (skin side down) IMG_1868
  7. Cook until all sides are nicely brown IMG_1870
  8. Transfer the salmon to a plate IMG_1911
  9. We will then make the sauce. Take only 1 tbsp of oil left from the frying pan. Add the seasoning and cook in low heat until it boils. Stir to make sure the sugar is dissolved completely
  10. Add the salmon back to the pan and spoon over the sauce all over the salmonIMG_1875
  11. Cook until the salmon absorbs the sauce and there was only little sauce left on the pan
  12. Transfer the salmon to a serving plate and spoon the leftover sauce on the pan on top of the salmon

IMG_1913

Frying the salmon with flour was a terrific idea and the salmon did taste much better this way.

Leave a Reply

