Vanilla Milkshake

IMG_1997

It’s been very hot these days. I read in the whats app group that the temperature will fluctuate to 40 degrees Celsius in the next few days due to the sun directly positioned above the equator line. No wonder we are very attached to the air con lately……………..we also thought that the air con might be broken because it still felt hot inside the room, but apparently that wasn’t the case, it was purely because the weather outside had been hotter than usual.

Besides drinking lots of water (we get thirsty easily in this terrible weather), we also crave for cold drinks, ice cream, and also cold cut fruits with lots of water inside like watermelon (cold watery watermelon is the best fruit to fight the heat). Then what else? Like I said………………………….ice cream, any kind of flavors, but my favorite is mango ice cream. Who can resist the cold ice cream in this hot weather?

So yesterday, when I did my grocery shopping, I didn’t forget to take home a pint of vanilla ice cream which is my son’s favorite and also the only ice cream flavor that he likes so far. I planned to make vanilla milkshake which is also one of his favorite drink and (again) the only milkshake flavor that he likes.

He usually buys this drink whenever we come back to Jakarta especially when we eat in Pizza Hut. Since buying a glass of vanilla milkshake in here is not as cheap as in Jakarta, I decided to try making it myself today……………….and it was very easy actually, too bad I just found out today……………………..

I never liked vanilla milkshake as I don’t like milk (especially the plain one), and I’m not a big fan of vanilla ice cream. But surprisingly, I kinda liked what I made today and could finish almost 1 glass of this milkshake. I did feel that the taste was better than the one we usually bought at the restaurants. I think it was because I could manage the amount of milk, ice cream, and sugar by myself. Also, it was still cold and creamy and thick even after few minutes unlike the ones from the restaurants (we’ve tried several vanilla milkshake from different restaurants in Jakarta and in where we live now). My son also said it was very good and refreshing, and of course he finished the whole glass by himself.

So next time, whenever he wants vanilla milkshake, I’ll just make one myself. It is very simple and very easy to make.

IMG_1988

Ingredients:

  1. 200 ml chilled plain milk (put the milk in freezer at least for 30 minutes or until it almost turns into ice)
  2. 1 3/4 cups of vanilla ice cream
  3. 1/2 tsp sugar (or 1 tsp if you like it to be sweeter)

Method:

  1. Keep the glass that you’re going to use for the milkshake in the freezer for at least 1 hour. This will keep the milkshake frosty as you sip it

    Fresh from the freezer
    Fresh from the freezer
  2. Using a blender, blend all ingredients together until smooth (for about 30 seconds)
  3. Taste it before pouring it into a glass. To make it thinner, add milk. To make it thicker, add ice cream. If it’s not sweet enough, add sugar
  4. Serve in tall glass with a straw and spoon

IMG_1989

Leave a Reply

