Saucy Mixed Vegetables On Crispy Noodle Bed (Ifumie Siram Capcay Kuah)

IMG_0977

In my hometown (Jakarta), this dish which is called “Ifumie” can be easily found in Chinese food restaurants or in any restaurants that serve noodle as their main dish, but I never find any restaurants that serve this kind of dish in here. Although I was not a big fan of Ifumie when I was till living in Jakarta, but I don’t know why I suddenly began to like this dish when we moved here (maybe because it is hard to find here???). Once again, I learn how to make this dish from my mom, but I modify the ingredients and the sauce along the way.

For the crispy noodle, you can either make your own noodle nest by deep frying them (cook egg noodle in boiling water, drain the noodles, let it cool, arrange the noodles to form a bird nest, then deep fry them), or just buy the ready-made crispy noodle from the supermarket. I always take the short cut by using the ready-to use crunchy noodles that I bought from Fair Price Supermarket.

IMG_1041
Ready to eat: Yee Mee crispy noodle

When we were still in Jakarta, my family used to buy the crispy noodle in the wet market near my parents’ house. The seller would fried the noodles just before we bought them and packaged them in plastics, then my mom would make the saucy mixed veggie with beef meatballs, chickens, and lots of shrimps. Each noodle was big and crunchy and already had special seasoning that we could just munching the noodle without any sauce at all.  Since I couldn’t find that kind of noodle in here, I just used whatever I can find in the nearest market, although it tasted somewhat different.

My son and I love to munch on this noodle as snacks, hahaha........
My son and I love to munch on these noodles as snacks, hahaha……..they’re so good and crispy even without any toppings

My husband and my son love this dish so much. My son especially loves the crispy noodle, and he will eat the crunchy noodle first then the vegetables and the thick sauce. I make this dish in big portion because my husband usually eats 2 servings every time I cook this dish (seriously!). And plus, I’m a big fan of vegetables, so I always eat the noodles with lots of vegetables as the toppings.

After we are done with the noodle, the next step is to make the topping, which is the saucy stir fry. The purpose of pouring the freshly cooked hot  gravy is to cook and soften the noodles while absorbing all the delicious flavors from the savory sauce. The sauce has to be thick so it will top the noodle nicely. Both my husband and my son will complain if I put too much sauce (not the vegetables) because they want the noodle to be always crispy until they finish eating, hahaha…………definitely not the correct way to eat this dish………….but who doesn’t like crispy and crunchy noodle?

IMG_0974
Lil boy’s plate………..must keep the crunchiness until the last bite (if possible………..)

If you do not like to top your noodle with lots of vegetables, then just cook half the recipe. No need to follow exactly everything in this recipe, as you can be creative and use whatever vegetables and meat that you have in you refrigerator. Meatballs, pork, marinated chicken, squid, fish fillet, sausages, fish balls,  and big prawns can be used to strengthen the flavor of the dish, and in fact, those are what we usually see in this dish in big restaurants. Once again, since we are reducing our meat and seafood (other than fish) consumption in our daily food, I only use small amounts of chicken and shrimps in this recipe, but please add more of them if you like.

IMG_1040
I, on the other hand, like if the noodle absorbs all the gravy without being too soggy

*This recipe serves 4*

Ingredients:

For the noodles:

  1. 4 crispy or crunchy noodles (can be bought in supermarket), put each noodle to a different serving plate

    Bird nest crispy noodle
    Bird nest crispy noodle

For the stir fry:

  1. 2 tbsp cooking oil
  2. 1 thumb of ginger, peel and cut into thinly round pieces
  3. 1/2 large onion, cut in thinly slice
  4. 4 garlic, minced
  5. 3 carrots, cut diagonally
  6. 200 gr cauliflower, break into bite-sized florets
  7. 100 gr bok choy, cut into 2 cm pieces
  8. 3 shiitake mushrooms, remove the stems and slice the caps all the way across into thin slices
  9. 50 gr baby corn, cut diagonally
  10. 1/2 tomato (optional), cut 4
  11. 50 gr chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
  12. 100 gr fish cake, cut in round shapes
  13. 5 shrimps, peel and devein and make butterfly cut

    So many things to peel, cut, and wash
    So many things to peel, cut, and wash……………but we love vegetables, so it’s ok……….

For the sauce:

  1. 1 L hot water or chicken broth or combine both of them (using chicken broth will make the sauce more delicious)
  2. 1 tsp oyster sauce
  3. 1 tbsp fish sauce
  4. 1 tbsp soy sauce
  5. 1 tbsp sesame oil
  6. salt, to taste
  7. 2 tbsp (full) corn starch, add another 1 tbsp if you want the sauce to be thicker

Method:

  1. Combine oyster sauce, fish sauce, soy sauce, and sesame oil in a small bowl. Mix well and set aside
  2. Mix together 2 tbsp of corn starch with some water in a small bowl until there are no lumps. Set aside
  3. Heat 2 tbsp of cooking oil in big wok or pan. Add ginger and fry until aromatic
  4. Add large onion and keep stirring until the onions are half cooked
  5. Add garlic and stir fry until fragrant
  6. Add chicken, cook until the color turns to golden brown
  7. Add shiitake mushroom and tomato and stir fry for about one minute
  8. Add shrimps and fish cake and cook until the shrimps turn into light pink
  9. Then add carrots, then add 1 L of hot water or chicken broth
  10. Pour the sauce into the pan and mix well with other ingredients
  11. Cook until the carrots are half cooked, then add bok choy
  12. After about 30 seconds, add cauliflower and baby corn
  13. When the sauce is boiled and the all the vegetables are cooked, pour the corn starch mixture and quickly stir with your spatula. Wait until it boils again, then turn off the heat

To serve:

  1. Place stir fry and sauce over crispy noodle. Serve immediately IMG_0978
Leave a Reply

