Tofu Ball Soup / Sup Bakso Tahu Ayam

IMG_0926

I didn’t know what to cook today for lunch, so when I opened my fridge and I saw that I still had some tofu left, I planned to make tofu balls. I learned this very easy yet healthy recipe from my mom who used to make this tofu ball soup for my son, because it was very soft and easy to chew.

Both my son and husband like to eat soup, so almost everyday during the weekdays I have to cook many kinds of soup for (mostly) lunch and dinner. So I have to have many collections of soup recipes so my two customers will not get bored. Well, I don’t think they’re bored now, since my lil boy still prefers eating at home then eating outside (even on weekends), and my husband still prefers home cooked food for his lunch at the office…………….and hopefully this will last for a long time.  Most of my friends will be surprised if they know I’m still cooking during the weekends because weekends are usually non cooking days for stay at home moms like us, hahaha…………

I only use very little meat (chicken and shrimps) in this recipe because we are now trying to reduce our meat consumption, but feel free to add more chicken, shrimps, and even pork which also goes very well with this recipe.

Ingredients:

For the tofu ball:

  1. 1 egg, beaten
  2. 60 gr chicken fillet
  3. 5 medium shrimps, peel and devein
  4. 2 garlic
  5. 1 tsp fish sauce
  6. 1 tsp soy sauce
  7. 1/2 tsp salt
  8. 1 tsp fried shallot
  9. 1 tsp corn starch
  10. 3 white firm tofu (6.5 X 6.5 X 3 cm), mash with it into a paste with your hand or with a fork
  11. 15 celery stalk, chopped. Set aside the celery leaves for the soup

For the soup:

  1. 2 L water
  2. 1 tbsp fried shallot
  3. 1 tsp sugar
  4. 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  5. 5 carrots or less, cut in any shapes you like for the soup
  6. celery leaves

Method:

  1. Prepare a medium stock pot and add 2 L of water. Bring to boil, then set to medium heat
  2. In a food processor, place tofu ball ingredient number 1 to 8 (egg, chicken, shrimp, garlic, fish sauce, soy sauce, salt, and fried shallot) and grind until it forms a paste
  3. Add corn starch and process again until it mix well with the chicken and shrimp paste. You can add another 1 tsp of corn starch to make the tofu balls more firm. It is not easy to form the tofu balls  as they break apart easily during the cooking process
  4. In a medium bowl, combine the mash tofu, chopped celery stalks, and chicken and shrimp paste (from method number 2). Mix all the ingredients well by using a spoon
  5. Pinch about 1 tbsp of the tofu mixture, roll it into a ball between the palm of your hand, and slide it carefully into the boiling water  so it doesn’t break apart. Do this process with the rest of the tofu mixture. Don’t stir the soup because it will break the tofu balls
  6. Wait until the tofu balls rise or float to the top, then add the chopped carrots, salt, and sugar
  7. Cook until the carrots are soft, then add fried shallot and celery leaves. Stir until all are mixed well, then turn off the heat and cover the stock pot with its lid for about 5 minutes
  8. Transfer the dish to serving bowls

*This recipe will make about 20 tofu balls*.

IMG_0925

Leave a Reply

