Me and My Messy Kitchen

I love cooking. In fact, I like cooking more than cleaning up the house. I cook almost everyday. The presentation of the food is not my priority all this time, as long as it’s healthy and edible and everybody enjoys it……………..it’s fine with me.

Although I cook almost everyday, it doesn’t mean that I always produce good and delicious food. There were times that the food tasted not so good that nobody wanted to eat it except me (I had to because I hate throwing up food to my dust bin, especially after I spent hours in the kitchen making that dish). There were also times that the dish tasted so awful that I willingly threw everything in the dust bin. Another time, it tasted very delicious (according to us) that I didn’t get to eat at all. The third time is the happiest time for me.

For example, this chocolate sauce was a disaster. I followed the recipe from the internet and it turned out that the recipe was wrong. I realized only when I finished making super thick and sticky chocolate sauce (too much corn starch was the problem). I had to make some adjustment because I didn’t want to throw the sauce and waste the milk and chocolate. So I had to strain, add water, strain again, add milk, strain again, and repeat again for many times. Finally, it was edible to eat although I didn’t get the thickness that I wanted. At least, this can still be eaten with pancakes or ice cream

This chocolate sauce was a disaster.
It actually tasted good after some adjustment, but I promised myself not to try making this again for a very long time………………

Then one day, out of the blue I was tempted to make pancakes (because we love pancakes and I thought it was going to be easy just to make pancakes). I made pancakes before (twice) and they failed miserably………..

Don't get fooled by the look of these fluffy pancakes, they tasted terrible.
Don’t get fooled by the look of these fluffy pancakes, they tasted terrible. The boy tried hard to swallow his first bite so I won’t be disappointed because he knew I woke up early in the morning to make these pancakes. Well, I threw away everything finally and decided to eat:

 

Swensen's Pancakes
Swensen’s Pancakes

The problem was when I tried to make buttermilk by adding vinegar to the milk. I felt that I already followed the recipe correctly but it turned out that the milk, and thus the pancakes, tasted very sour. So the pancakes went straight to the dustbin.

I didn’t give up. I tried another recipe and it went quite well. The pancakes were fluffy, well at least all the pancakes were gone into everybody’s tummy at breakfast. I’m still not satisfy with the result, because the taste of eggs was quite strong which is unlike other pancakes in the restaurant. So next time we want pancakes…………just go to Mc Donalds or Swensen’s………easier, right?

Then again, all of a sudden the boy asked for mozzarella cheese stick. Hey, mozzarella cheese stick is expensive, ya know………

So I said: “Let’s make this at home.”

Wrong decision………..!!!

Cheese Stick
He’s like a pro…….using two hands to coat the cheese with flour. He was happy to help me, so I didn’t mind cleaning up the kitchen

The end product………………was a disaster! The coated cheese wasn’t cold enough when I fried it so it melted on my pan. So the cheese was separated from the crumbs, but amazingly the boy still said it was good and finished everything. The second attempt was so much better, at least 80% was in good condition and everything was edible…….but the taste wasn’t as good as the one in the restaurant.The worst part was: to clean all the cheese that stick onto my pan when it melted!

So next time he wants fried mozzarella cheese stick………………..I”ll say let’s just buy them in the restaurant!

Not all things went bad. Some were good although not perfect.

This crispy cheese puff (kue sus kering keju) is one of the boy’s favorite snack. It takes time to make this puff, especially because my oven is rather small and I had to bake 3 times for each cake pan in order to get crispy puff that can last for days. So if I need 3 cake pans, it means I have to bake 9 times

The problem is.........although they actually taste good, but the shapes are not as good as the taste. I still have to learn and practice to make good and almost identical shape for every puff that I make
The problem is………although they actually taste good, but the shapes are not as good as the taste. I still have to learn and practice to make good and almost identical shape for every puff that I make. Yeah, imagine the electricity bill at the end of the month…………

The good point is, the boy never really cares about the shapes. The puffs are delicious and he always eats almost all the puffs that I make. See…………..food presentation is not that important to him……

This usually was not the kind of dessert that I would make, considering the boy didn’t have sweet tooth, especially to chocolate. Surprisingly, as he grows up, he starts to like sweet dessert such as this green and chocolate pudding. I only added little chocolate so the taste of chocolate wouldn’t be so strong, and he liked it. I didn’t make the sauce because it would be too sweet and nobody in the house would like it

My first chocolate agar-agar with vanilla milk and green agar-agar with plain milk.
My first chocolate agar-agar with vanilla milk and green agar-agar with plain milk. Pssst……actually, the bottom layer of the pudding didn’t stick well to the above pudding, we found out when we cut the pudding. But anyway, it’s still nice, isn’t it?

 

Look who lends a helping hand.....................this is one of his favorite job in the kitchen. I started to encourage him to use real kitchen knife in simple and easy thing as this: cutting the pudding. He usually would say: "Hei, I'm only 7, I can't use the knife, it's dangerous." But I watched the kids in Junior Master Chef used knives all the time and they were OK, so I thought why not teaching him how to use the knife in a safe and simple way
Look who lends a helping hand…………………this is one of his favorite job in the kitchen. I started to encourage him to use real kitchen knife in simple and easy thing as this: cutting the pudding. He usually would say: “Hei, I’m only 7, I can’t use the knife, it’s dangerous.” But I watched the kids in Junior Master Chef used knives all the time and they were OK, so I thought why not teaching him how to use the knife in a safe and simple way

Next, what was wrong with this dish?

After years, I finally made zuppa soup again. I found instant pastry in the supermarket and decided to try this new brand that I've never heard before (Pampas). The taste turned out good..........
After years, I finally made zuppa soup again. I found instant pastry in the supermarket and decided to try this new brand that I’ve never heard before (Pampas). The taste turned out good……….

 

After years, I finally made zuppa soup again. I found instant pastry in the supermarket and decided to try this new brand that I've never heard before (Pampas). The taste turned out good..........
Zuppa soup is one of his favorite food. From what I read, it is absolutely not originated from Italy and you can’t never find this food in Italy (because a lot of people think it’s from Italy). I never see this kind of creation too in Singapore. Maybe it was created by Indonesian people (who knows…..???)

The problem was, the inside of the pastry wasn’t as crispy as the outside. Maybe I should have rolled it thinner. But this is also the problem that I see mostly in the restaurants that serve Zuppa Soup. The boy finished everything though.

After I wrote about many unsuccessful dish that I’ve made, I will close this post with our favorite Nasi Tim Ayam that I’ve successfully made from time to time. I don’t know how to translate this, probably Steam Chicken Rice or Claypot Chicken Rice. To make it more convenient in searching the recipe, I moved this recipe to a new post in here.

Leave a Reply

